Televixen: When 140 characters just isn't enough

Just another WordPress.com site

Voyager at 20 and Its Impact on Female Roles August 25, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Televixen @ 4:49 am

Screen Shot 2015-08-12 at 11.50.40 AM

I’ve been speaking on panels at Star Trek Las Vegas for about seven years now and I almost didn’t do it this year. With a career change and a busy schedule, I wasn’t sure I had it in me. I wasn’t sure I wanted to do it. After six years of discussing gender roles in Star Trek and its fandom, what could there possibly be to say that hasn’t been said already? I never like re-hashing material, so I convinced myself to let it go unless there was a new angle. After texting and emailing with the other women on the panel, I decided that we should exclusively focus on Voyager this year since it was the 20th anniversary of the show. The more and more I thought about it, Voyager was and is distinct. A female captain, a capable female engineer that kept the ship running and two smart science officers whose contributions were invaluable to the crew, that’s what made Voyager special. Women were front and center in the series and in the 1990s no less!

To find out what we had to say about it. Click the link below to the Women At Warp podcast. Thank you to my panelists: Jarrah Hodge, Kayla Iacovino and Amy Imhoff for their enthusiasm and knowledge. A woman’s place is definitely on the bridge and also behind a mic!

Click the banner to hear the Star Trek Las Vegas panel:

WomenatWarp3

 

Leave a Reply

